Wednesday, June 19th, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

Forgotten Weapons
April 13, 2019

Shooting the Inglis 8mm Bren Gun

From Forgotten Weapons on Saturday, April 13th, 2019 in Reviews, How To, & Videos
00:05:49
This Bren is lot #1013 at Morphy's April 2019 auction:
www.forgottenweapons.com/shoot... 

The Bren gun is widely regarded as one of the best light machine guns ever built, but that reputation is based on the British .303 caliber version. How does the design perform in 8mm Mauser? Today I am going to find out, using one of the John Inglis "sterile" 8mm Brens.
www.patreon.com/ForgottenWeapo... 

Cool Forgotten Weapons merch! shop.bbtv.com/collections/forg... 

Contact:
Forgotten Weapons
PO Box 87647
Tucson, AZ 85754

50 Comments on "Shooting the Inglis 8mm Bren Gun":

Nathan C Saturday, April 27th, 2019
As a Canadian, I thank you for using the historically accurate flag. Most use the maple leaf flag, which didn't come into use until 1965.
Twirlyhead Thursday, April 25th, 2019
Hah - you spelt English wrong.
MainesOwn Wednesday, April 24th, 2019
just rock solid on the ground, impressive.
SteamCrane Wednesday, April 24th, 2019
I just came across a video example of walking fire, in the newly published Tank Museum video "Tiger 131: A Twist In The Tale | The Tank Museum" at time 4:30. Rather interesting story of decades-later research by a soldier's descendant, with movies shot at the time. Just about the most desireable firearm I've ever seen, I'm hoping the lottery commission comes through in time...!
Zeinactus Von Friedrich Stallion Monday, April 22nd, 2019
The sound of it is gorgeous
Mike Mcauliffe Monday, April 22nd, 2019
I think that these are the greatest sounding mg
Jesper O Monday, April 22nd, 2019
You can really see how controllable that gun is by looking at the slow-mo, no drama what so ever, not bouncing/flexing around at all.
Masaharu Morimoto Sunday, April 21st, 2019
Pretty cool!! Thanks for the shooting video Ian!!!!
Marc Dezaire Sunday, April 21st, 2019
Sooo …. are there any sources from main land occupied Europe and China that show how effective (or uneffective) it was ? Cartridges were probably not that difficult to get, but how about magazines ? You go through them fast. How many mags were dropped with each bren gun? Although most usage of it was probably hit and run tactics….
Doug Bader Saturday, April 20th, 2019
Whoa-ha
Casin Ferney Friday, April 19th, 2019
Get it Ian!!
Steve Slaughter Wednesday, April 17th, 2019
Is it open-bolt when firing in semi-auto?
Michael JH Wednesday, April 17th, 2019
When Canada was badass.
Geoff Curphey Tuesday, April 16th, 2019
Had the privilege of firing the Bren chambered for the 7.62 round many years ago (they were still in the inventory so we had to qualify on them). Absolutely agree with the comments on this video. One of the finest LMGs of all time.
spike001ton Tuesday, April 16th, 2019
It was some reports of the been in Burma being used in single shot as a long range weapon as it was better than tje beat to death rifles for that
Anon Anonson Tuesday, April 16th, 2019
"It just works"
PJ 73 Tuesday, April 16th, 2019
Weapons grade BS 😆😎
GodILoveAlcohol Monday, April 15th, 2019
Was it Lindybeige that brought up those BREN gun myths?
Johnny Appleseed Monday, April 15th, 2019
I didn't even shoot it and I can tell it's spectacular. Don't think I could find enough change in the couch to even approach acting like I was dreaming of even beginning to start to transfer that. Oh well, I can still daydream about winning the lottery. :))
whiskeyinthejar24 Monday, April 15th, 2019
When my grandfather did his national service in the Australian army in the 50s they were trained to hip fire brens, it was considered a useful skill for short range jungle warfare.
ThatIsDebatable Monday, April 15th, 2019
It would be great if the team at Forgotten Weapons could do some videos just on ammunition, discussing the different dynamics of calibres, their peculiarities, effectiveness, production, use and such.
pagansforbreakfast Monday, April 15th, 2019
Well, you could just slide a little bucket under that thing and not have to pick your brass out the dirt.
Hans Thyme Monday, April 15th, 2019
I really hope you get the chance to try out the 6,5x55 mm Swedish BAR one day.
Scott Kenny Monday, April 15th, 2019
308 comments when I posted this. Sure you aren't bidding on it Ian? I think it'd be a blast to take that to a 2-Gun match!
Marten Hilberts Monday, April 15th, 2019
What's the wager Mr. Mcollum will end up with one or two of the aforementioned guns?
Seelenschmiede Monday, April 15th, 2019
Huh, is it hot in here or is it me? If there are sexy gun out there, this is one of them!
Christopher Wang Monday, April 15th, 2019
So we know that the Wehrmacht designated captured Bren guns as "7.7 mm Leichtes MG 138(e)". Is there any historical evidence of the Wehrmacht converting captured Bren guns to 7.92×57mm Mauser?
Jorge Gomez Monday, April 15th, 2019
Some days ago, you posted about a fellow gun enthusiast who was thinking of making reproductions of the Federov rifle. I say, why not the BREN? You mentioned that the Communist Chinese re chambered the 8mm Mauser BRENs into 7.62x39 Soviet ounds that take AK mags. That sounds a bit more reasonable and cheaper for the end use. You can use cheap and available mags and ammo.
Augie Doggie Monday, April 15th, 2019
I have never understood the reason for a light machine gun with a twenty round box magazine.
Mitchell Line Monday, April 15th, 2019
You may not hit a lot with it while hip firing but it would probably make the enemy think twice about sticking their head up or at least that was probably the thought process of the time.
Common Opinion Sunday, April 14th, 2019
load
josephd27 Sunday, April 14th, 2019
Is gun Jesus wearing a Finnish camo hat
daniel hulson Sunday, April 14th, 2019
it's sad that the collector died
Franky Vincent Sunday, April 14th, 2019
this should be an episode of Beavis & Butthead
Projekt:Kobra Sunday, April 14th, 2019
Thank you for using the REAL Canadian flag in the thumbnail.
おさかな天国 Sunday, April 14th, 2019
no hablo inglis
tae k Sunday, April 14th, 2019
I think, German should have used Bren gun, instead of making FG-42 at this point haha
Andrew Johnston Sunday, April 14th, 2019
So who cleaned it before it went to auction 😁
Ayy rab Sunday, April 14th, 2019
What are the chances of you travelling Russia to do a series on Russian unicorn guns?
Jin Kee Sunday, April 14th, 2019
imagine if the huges amendment never existed and the aftermarket created p90 style transverse magazines for the bren gun
Jin Kee Sunday, April 14th, 2019
lol, you know the audience is full of mechanical nerds when the disassembly video has 40% more views than the range video
Hannexuu Sunday, April 14th, 2019
please if you can, review the DSR-1 sniper rifle.
Joseph Edwards Sunday, April 14th, 2019
The story about the Bren being used as a marksman weapon is actually true, but the weapon it concerns is the Bren's successor, the L86 SA80 Light Support Weapon.
Apparition Sunday, April 14th, 2019
You should do a video on the TP-82 Cosmonaut survival pistol if you get the chance.
Patrick Leary Sunday, April 14th, 2019
I thought that the handle on that weapon was for barell replacement to avoid harmful heat in the removal.Good to see you for the Been from your hip strap included.
Mixter Muxter Sunday, April 14th, 2019
01:39 best sound ever
Tavorath Sunday, April 14th, 2019
Such a way to make an advance maneuver with an 8mm gunner supporting at your back. Seems like elite units only.
Jerry 1911 Sunday, April 14th, 2019
Man, I REALLY need to hit the lottery!
yeahsteeeve Sunday, April 14th, 2019
I never really gave the Bren a second thought. I always thought the BAR was the bees knees but after seeing this and the previous video about the 7.92 Bren, I have to say Im impressed. I always thought the top load magazine was goofy but watching Ian essentially rock and drop the mag in letting gravity domthe work, it looks like reloads were actually much quicker than bottom inserted mags. Recoil looked very controllable as well.
Mike Coltas Sunday, April 14th, 2019
Thanks for displaying the correct flag for the time.
970x90 ADSENSE

Sponsors:





Browse Content:


Categories: