Tuesday, April 23rd, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

Forgotten Weapons
February 10, 2019

How Does It Work: Patents and Blueprints

From Forgotten Weapons on Sunday, February 10th, 2019 in How To, & Videos
00:10:50
www.patreon.com/ForgottenWeapo... 

Cool Forgotten Weapons merch! shop.bbtv.com/collections/forg... 

What is the difference between patents and copyrights? If someone wants to reproduce an old firearm design, how do they get the rights to? Why can't you reproduce a gun design from patent drawings? What information is in a technical data package? This and more, today on How Does It Work!
Contact:
Forgotten Weapons
PO Box 87647
Tucson, AZ 85754

50 Comments on "How Does It Work: Patents and Blueprints":

spades95 Saturday, February 23rd, 2019
Really nice doing this in your smoking jacket next to you liqour globe.(god, this was hard writing drunk as a non native english speaking person. I had to correct every other word)
Сергей Соколов Friday, February 22nd, 2019
Ian, thanks a lot, you've it answered most of the question i've wrote you recently) but may be it wont be too much if i ask for a small clarification for the same theme? What if you don't copy the gun, but design it specifically to use core parts like barrel, pressure bearing and locking parts from another gun (exactly to reduce problems with tolerances, material and heat treating)? On one hand, you do not copy them, you just buy them as spares, on the other, you can as well use them as unfair selling point hinting to the existing proved good reputation of the source gun design, quality, reliability, accessories and tuning parts lines, etc.
ctg ctg Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
Ian....."range of sizes".... tolerance.... If you ever redo this video please alter the script. Something like "the term for this range of sizes is tolerance".I know you used it later in the video, but as a trained draftsman that explanation was unusually grating for some reason.Aside from that, great video! As someone who is interested in firearms from a technical and manufacturing perspective this is something I had been wondering about for a while! I was just thinking of doing some research into the subject but I'm glad that this answered most of my questions! Keep up the good work!
Nathan Oswald Monday, February 18th, 2019
I appreciate your channel and your personality.
lysander xiii Saturday, February 16th, 2019
One thing about reverse engineering...If you, or your company, has enough experience with the type of product, be it guns, watches, cars, whatever, you can fill in many of the blanks regarding material and tolerances based on your knowledge, and maybe a little math. As to blueprints being blue, the ones done with the original cyanotype process are blue. Up until the widespread availability of the 'Xerox' machine and large machine plotters, almost all 'blueprints' were either blue background or blue line prints.
Ben D Friday, February 15th, 2019
I have hair envy.
MrLeo2A6 Thursday, February 14th, 2019
WOW very well explained
gregory frye Thursday, February 14th, 2019
Is that a mil-surp smoking jacket?
wampastompastomp Wednesday, February 13th, 2019
Ian, why are you in pajamas?
Michael Piekarski Wednesday, February 13th, 2019
Ian, I agree witheverything you said about TDPs, however, after spending a significant portionof my Engineering career working with ammunition and weapons I would like to makea couple of additional points concerning TDPs. Even if one gets the entire TDPfor a system from the original manufacturer, it might not contain all of thechanges that were made along the way in developing the manufacturing processand in finalizing the function of the product. Also, even if all the changeswere documented with ECOs (Engineering Change Orders), the subtle nuances ofmanufacture (sometimes known only to the workers on the plant floor), might notbe captured in the most detailed TDP.
prashant sharma Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
that was really helpful.
davi Junior AS Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Título em português ,legenda em inglês e francês
sixshooter Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Good job explaining a complex topic
Basil Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Just want to say that I really like the way you narrate the videos, your style and presentation is excellent and relaxing to watch. I also like the fact that you go into the design of each weapon in as much detail as possible, including the manufacturing and any design problems during manufacture and use of the weapon. Great stuff, well done and thank you!
JeKramxel Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Thanks, Ian! Really appreciate your explanations!
Eric P Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
If you want to make a gun without considering the metallurgy, you probably shouldn't.
Dave Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Manufacturing is not a science...15 German engineers disagreed
ATAFREX Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
intellectual property is neither
Odin029 Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
My former roommate walked by while I was watching this video and she's jealous of Ian's hair. But aren't we all
bobr1375 Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
A patent does not grant or guarantee a right to produce an item. It grants what is called a "negative right" and in patents that gives you the ability to deny anyone else from making your patented item. It was explained to me like this. a man has a patent for a device with four legs that you sit on (a chair). He can keep you from making a four legged chairs as long as he holds the patent. You buy one of his chairs and think that you can improve on it by adding curved runners under the legs thereby making the chair rock. You file for and receive your rocking chair patent. This gives you the ability to stop others from making rocking chairs including the owner of the original chair patent. If you want to produce and sell your rocking chair you need to work with the patent holder of the chair patent. He can charge you a fee, let you do it at no obligation or he can deny you from manufacturing your rocking chair because it would violate his patents. richardspatentlaw.co...
Mandatory Carry Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
Ian, I hate it when you leave your hair out if a pony.Ok, end rant.Sadly, blueprints are worth a lot of money, destroying them is really a crime against humanity. 😔
Hypastpist Tuesday, February 12th, 2019
i finally understand why the adeptus mechanicus have to slap their dicks on the STCs to make their machines work in 40k
Rodrigo Fernández Ulloa Monday, February 11th, 2019
This episode was sad...
Carl Carlton Monday, February 11th, 2019
How is that 1905 Yoghurt gun Ian is talking about spelled? I tried some variations but Google didn't find anything.
Parsecboy Monday, February 11th, 2019
Alternate title for this video: "Why HMS hasn't released the Sturmgewehrs yet"
Parsecboy Monday, February 11th, 2019
The reason copyrights have been repeatedly extended and patents have not is because Disney has a copyright on Mickey Mouse, not a patent on that little bastard.
Ryan Ashby Monday, February 11th, 2019
When everyone is having a fit that the STG44 replica or the FG42 replica are taking so long to produce and are expensive. This is part of the reason.
OTElron Monday, February 11th, 2019
As an example for the usefullness of technical documentation and progress: NASA tried to rebuilt the original Saturn 5 engines a couple of years ago and failed miserably. They had all the blueprints and testing data, but figured our they lacked the world of knowledge that went into actually building these by engineers and mechanics, that just did not document every single step. From my own experience as an engineer I can assure you: 1.All the most complete looking documentation in the world barely equals an awful engineer...because my kind usually likes their jobs and we don't think handing every thing we know to some manager is a great idea for keeping said job. NASA then decided to "redesign" the Saturn 5 engine, and did so with a fraction of the manpower neeeded for the original, and a fraction of the parts. Which leads to 2. Progress in technology shatters personal experience and skill, if you wait long enough. That's btw also the reason why bolt action guns are obsolete.
DorjeDriftwood Monday, February 11th, 2019
Who makes the smoking jacket, you should mention them because they deserve credit.
Fred Balitsky Monday, February 11th, 2019
you need a fez with that robe.
Chasmodius Monday, February 11th, 2019
The name of a product might be covered under copyright or trademark, right? So I probably couldn't make an MP5 and call it that without getting into legal trouble with H&K. Is the TDP covered under copyright or something similar as a work of media?
williestyle35 Monday, February 11th, 2019
Been wondering if or when Forgotten Weapons would cover this topic. Good explanation of the process.
Master of Helium Monday, February 11th, 2019
How does it Work: Blowback - 3:38 of explanations;How does it Work: Short stroke gas piston - 3:07How does it Work: Long recoil - 2:58How Does It Work: Patents and Blueprints - almost eleven minutes.Oh, the bureaucracy!
Jacob Harris Monday, February 11th, 2019
ian your awesome but you seriously look like and elf in this video. Just sayin. God bless. :)
Jerry Johnson II Monday, February 11th, 2019
Thanks for the knowledge Ian.
FWshaun98 Monday, February 11th, 2019
how to make your own forgotten weapons
Moose Worx Monday, February 11th, 2019
Case hardened...
Mr SmartyPanz Monday, February 11th, 2019
I'm liking these "how does it work" vids, keep it up Ian. Also, nice outfit
Alex K Monday, February 11th, 2019
Or... Just born as Chinese! And forget all that's technicality...
bobert577 Monday, February 11th, 2019
Another excellent video from my favorite series of yours. Keep up the great work Ian!
Hamm 603 Monday, February 11th, 2019
Good explanation!
ohwillypendleton Monday, February 11th, 2019
Ian, no kidding, I want that robe.... where did ya get it???
Jared Green Monday, February 11th, 2019
Blue prints and patents exist to protect inventors and investors.... except in China... China don't care 🤗🤑
John Morrison Monday, February 11th, 2019
Be careful when you talk about 'design' drawings. Design patents cover the way something looks. So, Yes, design drawings do have to look like the product. Utility patents, cover the way something works. They do not have to look like the product. In fact, I've worked on projects where we took competitors patent drawings and added our features to file new patents. There is no copyright on patent drawings, they are public domain.
Zack TheBongRipper Monday, February 11th, 2019
Bless you Gun Jesus.
Jesse Sisolack Monday, February 11th, 2019
I was considering trying to get investors to produce a FAMAS in the US. I was unable to reach anyone with the technical package. Could not even figure out exactly who has it. I am guessing the French government, and they will hold things in secret that are from WWI, ha. So I sought out to price reverse engineering the rifle. After I estimated millions of dollars just to make a working technical package, I figured there is little chance even a big company that already has a production plant could make this happen. There is NO chance I am getting this project off the ground, ha.
Jesse Sisolack Monday, February 11th, 2019
Sometimes I have seen patent drawings with all kind of dimensions to the point I often think, Hey I could totally remake that with little effort. Other times it is just a rough drawing of the general concept that is being patent. Then there are times when you look at the patent drawing, look at the firearm, look back at the patent drawing and think, are we SURE this is the same gun? ha.
Terence Turcotte Monday, February 11th, 2019
Have a 98/22 Check Mauser. My nephew sent me a bayonet , but it's upside down, blade wise. But I learned that the austrians and the chzeks had them ,why
Raphael Lagace Monday, February 11th, 2019
Sunday gun jesus mode i see 🤔
Brian Reddeman Monday, February 11th, 2019
Hence why reverse engineering things like jet engines take years or decades.
970x90 ADSENSE

Sponsors:





Browse Content:


Categories: