Saturday, August 24th, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

hickok45
February 8, 2019

Shooting the Breeze # 34

From hickok45 on Friday, February 8th, 2019 in Rifles, Reviews & Videos
01:03:14
Hickok45 is talking to himself in the woods again, UNLESS at least ONE of you watches and listens. :-) By the way, I realize it would be easy to "poke holes" in my little "gun control hypothetical story," but I'm not silly enough to try to affect die hard, drama-loving NRA haters. My intent was just to give reasonable folks something to think about that might not have occurred to them. A lot of people seem to think 2nd Amendment supporting politicians and the NRA Institute for Legislative Action lie awake at night dreaming up ways to sneak in more gun control, hoping they get to "compromise" our rights away.
In the REAL world, as opposed to the fantasy land a lot of people live in, once the gun hating politicians and the mindless voters who voted them into office have us by the throat with gun control measures imminent, that ARE going to pass into law, we're fighting for our lives.
When 15 highly armed killers break in your door and give you two choices: "We kill your entire family OR you give us that nice car in the driveway." Be sure you don't give in and "compromise."
There HAS been a lot of "compromising," but the "compromising" most gun owners have done over the years is what puts our politicians and gun rights organizations in situations where there's no way to win. Gun owners have "compromised" our rights away by either NOT voting at all, or by voting into office people who want to ban guns. Gun owners especially have "compromised" for years by NOT supporting gun rights groups, whether it be the NRA, the GOA, or others. Over 100 million gun owners in this country, yet around 6 or 7 million belong to gun rights organizations. This has been a serious issue for decades, which many of us have addressed continually. Way too many have always been RIDING in the wagon while the rest of us have PULLED the wagon. That has not changed much. Here's where the "compromise" exists and has existed for a long time. My guess is, many of the very same people who childishly parrot the word "compromise" accusation these days are likely the very same people who have been the real "compromisers" causing the problem! As is often the case in this world, things are not always as they appear. Critical thinking skills are pretty uncommon these days.
------------------------ Please visit the Hickok45.com website and check out what the great folks who support us have to offer: BUD’s GUN SHOP, THE NATIONAL RIFLE ASSOCIATION, FEDERAL PREMIUM, SONORAN DESERT INSTITUTE, and TALON GRIPS: www.hickok45.com/supporters/ 

Please consider becoming a Gong Club member at our Patreon Page: www.patreon.com/hickok45 

JOIN THE NRA at the Hickok45 page and get a nice discount: membership.nra.org/Hickok45/Jo... 

Hickok45 Store: www.bunkerbranding.com/pages/h... 

Federal Premium: www.federalpremium.com/ 

www.facebook.com/federalpremiu... 

SDI (Sonoran Desert Institute): www.sdi.edu/ 

Talon Grips: talongungrips.com/ 

UPCOMING “MEET & GREETS”
NRA Annual Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana
Friday, April 26th: Sonoran Desert Institute booth 11:00 to Noon.
Friday, April 26th: NRAFFF (Firearms for Freedom) booth 2:00 – 3:00.
Saturday, April 27th: Federal Premium booth 10:30 - Noon
ALSO, ALL our videos are also on GunStreamer:
gunstreamer.com/@Hickok45 

Most of our videos are also posted on Full30:
www.full30.com/channels/hickok... 

The short FAQ Videos playlist will answer most questions you have.
Find us on Hickok45 Twitter and Facebook, as well as “therealHickok45” on Instagram.
NOTE: All shooting in our videos is done by professional shooters for instructional and entertainment purposes, with an emphasis on safety and responsible gun ownership. Do not attempt to copy at home anything you see in our videos. Firearms can be extremely dangerous if not used safely.
(Note: These descriptions were last updated on 3-22-18).

50 Comments on "Shooting the Breeze # 34":

hickok45 Sunday, February 10th, 2019
By the way, I realize it would be easy to "poke holes" in my little "gun control hypothetical story," but I'm not silly enough to try to affect die hard, drama-loving NRA haters. My intent was just to give reasonable folks something to think about that might not have occurred to them. A lot of people seem to think 2nd Amendment supporting politicians and the NRA Institute for Legislative Action lie awake at night dreaming up ways to sneak in more gun control, hoping they get to "compromise" our rights away. In the REAL world, as opposed to the fantasy land a lot of people live in, once the gun hating politicians and the mindless voters who voted them into office have us by the throat with gun control measures imminent, that ARE going to pass into law, we're fighting for our lives. When 15 highly armed killers break in your door and give you two choices: "We kill your entire family OR you give us that nice car in the driveway." Be sure you don't give in and "compromise." There HAS been a lot of "compromising," but the "compromising" most gun owners have done over the years is what puts our politicians and gun rights organizations in situations where there's no way to win. Gun owners have "compromised" our rights away by either NOT voting at all, or by voting into office people who want to ban guns. Gun owners especially have "compromised" for years by NOT supporting gun rights groups, whether it be the NRA, the GOA, or others. Over 100 million gun owners in this country, yet around 6 or 7 million belong to gun rights organizations. This has been a serious issue for decades, which many of us have addressed continually. Way too many have always been RIDING in the wagon while the rest of us have PULLED the wagon. That has not changed much. Here's where the "compromise" exists and has existed for a long time. My guess is, many of the very same people who childishly parrot the word "compromise" accusation these days are likely the very same people who have been the real "compromisers" causing the problem! As is often the case in this world, things are not always as they appear. Critical thinking skills are pretty uncommon these days.
John Grit Friday, March 29th, 2019
The encouraging thing is, many states now allow people to CARRY guns! Not, just own them and keep them in their homes and go hunting with them, but actually carry them. Almost everywhere. This has been true in FL for decades. It worked so well, most states now have almost the same law. If states are allowing us to carry them concealed with a permit, almost anywhere, and openly with no permit, if going hunting, fishing, camping, or to a shooting range, we ARE wining! There are 130 million gun owners. That is the number I see on the Net. 130 million. But, only a fraction have joined the NRA. Wake up! We need to organize. We need to demonstrate peacefully. If only 50% of gun owners were to march around every state capital, it would wake them up. And, if we all had a rifle slung over our shoulders, (unloaded) it would get them to thinking about the fact the first shots fired in the American Revolution were over the Brits coming to take the people's guns. People need to know the two presidents who took some of our guns were both racists. FDR not only hated Jews, he had the blood of many thousands of Jews on his hands! Jews he could have saved! DR King supported the freedom to own guns. The famous actor, Heston, marched with King. He later was the leader of the NRA. The Second Amendment is the foundation of the entire Bill of Rights!
Brad Robert Thursday, March 28th, 2019
Suppressors!..... "never surrender" our freedom/country was founded on rebellion.
Maikeli7 Monday, March 25th, 2019
Hi Hickok, Long time no see!I see exactly what you are saying: If the situation arises where the anti-gunners have a large enough voter base/majority to enact legislation and it's going to happen anyway, it is better to work with them than to have no chance to steer the legislation towards a more favorable outcome for both sides. Do nothing, and then the other side will possibly do things without your input, imposing its will upon you. Better to work, to compromise, than to storm out in a huff. I agree with the real politik of this, but would add that at the same time, legal challenges be raised immediately upon passage of the new legislation. For instance, any infringement on the right to bear arms would be wise to utterly oppose without compromise if the political winds are blowing in your favor, but if things change, then leaving the opposition to do as they will would be an unnecessary and dangerous surrender. Just like "trust, but verify," we might need to work with the opposition to dilute legislation, tie it up in committee, or even sabotage it--all the while using the courts to oppose precisely the measures you appeared to work with them on in the first place. That is politics at its most sanguine, for the preservation of our Constitutional rights.In any case, I think your position very well reasoned and wise. Great videos as always!--Mike, ESL teacher, Raleigh NC
JB 1950 Monday, March 25th, 2019
Hickok45...How do you feel about making your own black powder?
Jeronimo M Sunday, March 17th, 2019
The way i see it with the example of people complaining at other people for shooting at night and all that, it is a middle ground between "not shooting at all" and "shooting whenever you want" and that's how everything begins. Maybe the ban on bump stocks is a middle ground between "having all the bump stocks you want" and "not having a semiauto rifle altogether". Every lost inch is a step to the inevitable 2A demise. That's how politics work, you can't have it all so you acept a middle ground between what they want and what you want, but everytime we cede, they win.
Kirk Boragine Saturday, March 16th, 2019
I don't understand you're rant. Are you caving to the local government now? The right to bear arms is an essential component of the U.S of A. Maybe I'm misunderstanding. I'm a new gun owner because of you! Are you back pedaling now?
Kirk Boragine Saturday, March 16th, 2019
2nd Amendment anyone?
mark madsen Friday, March 15th, 2019
My take is: If Liberal Socialists want to try to pass laws in our Country then let them try to come enforce it... Not the Sheriff, who Probably doesn't want to, or agree with the STUPID law to start with... Or Maybe They should stay in the City... Even Better!
Bartosz G Thursday, March 14th, 2019
Welcome all. At first I would like to thank you Hickok45 for this channel . To all of you who support Hickok - please don't let them win! I don't want to bring politics here but in my country (Poland) there is total gun control. If you wanna shoot than you have to be either in hunting organisation or a member in sport shooting club - there is particulartly no option of having a gun for self defence (only few have that privilige after several attack on their property and lives - stated by the court). What is more - we have to pass egzams that we know the law and rules of how to use the gun, we have to pay the membership fees for our clubs which are high, than we have to pass psycholigical tests, than the medical tests that there are no contraindications and than we have to write the application to the correct police department who will check our background if we don't drink alcohol, don't disturb the order in neighborhood and if we are clear (no criminal record) all that costs around 700 to 800 usd (I've recalculated that into your currency). Moreover only sport shooters are able to concealed carry their guns loaded. And also to posses the guns we have to have certificated safe cabinet to store the guns (unloaded) there. Police has final voice in verdict if they will grant us this privilige to possess a gun and if so - they give us a limit only to have certain number 6-8 if you are sport shooter or around 12 if you are collector. Ohhh also - we can't shoot outdors. Only at the shooting ranges :D yes ! That is our EU post comunist regulation .... Don't let them win cause later they will enslave you in other areas... God bless America ! Warm greetings from Poland to all of you! Cheers!
Paris Presley Monday, March 11th, 2019
Using windscreens should be mandatory!
Maria Callous Saturday, March 9th, 2019
your free will ends at the boundary of my property....or the distance of my bullets....lol
ED Saturday, March 9th, 2019
I think we often forget that many people who claim to be "anti-gun" simply lack any significant personal experience with firearms. They are only ever exposed to the media-driven mythos of "gun violence", so they speak and vote accordingly. The enemy is not an organization, or a political party, or people from a particular state. We are fighting - and currently losing - a nationwide war of perception. We must affect a paradigm shift whereby the second amendment is recognized as being as much a civil right as the first amendment - a definitive component of everyone's freedom - instead of being personated as a privilege of those demographics (read: rural, white, male) historically predisposed to the free exercise thereof. If we don't work to incorporate the second amendment into the prevailing narrative of diversity and inclusiveness, others will ensure that it is specifically excluded; we must eschew the partisan association of the second amendment and reshape society's understanding of firearms rights by crafting a message thoroughly imbued with apolitical universality. What makes hickok45, Forgotten Weapons, C&Rsenal, etc. so popular is their approach-ability and accessibility. We waste so much time, not only preaching to the choir, but also *arguing/infighting with it*! If you're not proselytizing the ill-informed/misinformed masses at every opportunity, you're going about it all wrong. Invite a new friend to the range with you, and make it an enjoyable, inclusive, non-intimidating experience. Then, have him bring along a new friend next time. Rinse and repeat. You'd be surprised what an afternoon with a single-shot .22, a brick of CCI Quiet, and some soda cans will do in the way of changing an individual's frame of reference.
ED Friday, March 8th, 2019
We have only ourselves to blame for the culture of compromise that has come to define the struggle to maintain our second amendment rights. The board of the NRA, and, thus, its disposition towards policy, is democratically elected from among the NRA's membership - how can we blame an organization that we have collectively created and maintained, yet look upon ourselves as victims of that organization's inaction and apathy? As a nation, we have failed to incorporate firearms education in our public schools, we have failed to portray responsible firearms ownership in the media, we have failed to creature a culture that values personal liberty over the red herring of "sensible gun control"; by virtue of our lack of advocacy, we are all complicit in the decline of our personal freedoms.
Grant Goodson Friday, March 8th, 2019
Great talk, really helped me wrap my head around some of the problems in the firearm world.
Gun Sense (drmaudio) Thursday, March 7th, 2019
I very much agree on the NRA, and there are a few instances I know of where your hypothetical was right on.
Darrin Rentruc Monday, February 25th, 2019
I am a Proud Patriot life member of the NRA, Are they perfect? No I am a Proud Member of the GOA, Are they perfect? No I am a Proud member of the Second Amendment Foundation, Are they perfect? No I am a Proud member of Illinois Rifle Association, Are they perfect? No I am a Proud member of Guns Saves Lives, Are they Perfect? NO Nobody agrees with anybody about everything but it takes money to fight these tyrants, And most of the drama Queens that are trying to divide us do not belong to any organization. They are the true weak links [ and betrayers] of our chain of Second Amendment preservationist.
Roger Rozell Charbonneau Sunday, February 24th, 2019
As usual, Hickok45, well-articulated. I just upgraded my Life Membership! I also support several other local and national organizations. Why the **** are they fighting each other??
Jason Hill Sunday, February 24th, 2019
NRA= "Negotiating Rights Away"
Trapper Cody Saturday, February 23rd, 2019
The NRA is good but theyre NOT good enough
dave ashworth Saturday, February 23rd, 2019
love watching your videos mate after finishing 12 hour nights I feel really chilled watching you please keep up the great work.and making my day.
lawls12 Friday, February 22nd, 2019
You all in the comments are so black and white, thing are gray it's how the world works. You can't get stuck in that mindset.
leglamps Thursday, February 21st, 2019
It would be interesting to know how many of these commentators that are against the NRA vote. How many of you actually belong to a gun rights organization? This is what matters most rather than just bitching about our rights being taken away on YouTube comments. Which does absolutely nothing.
richard bryan Thursday, February 21st, 2019
I am a NRA member . Attended a machine gun shoot in 2011 in Hilham , Tennessee. The owner of the company was demonstrating this new bump stock. Just as there are those that think you can open carry an AR in Walmart , there are those that feel you can spray bullets at full auto rate. Never have felt comfortable with open carry of an AR nor the bump stock. At the same time you better believe the ENTIRE dem party will do the Harry Reed hood wink on our 2nd Amendment. Join the NRA !
Sc 1911 Thursday, February 21st, 2019
Now Hickok is in Sig’s pocket.
Keith Viglucci Thursday, February 21st, 2019
People dont know what it means to negotiate.
Beardshire Thursday, February 21st, 2019
What do you think about KY senate passing constitutional carry?
James Romano Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
I really enjoy your chats- I know I'm not alone. Thank you for your videos!
Nathan Gilbert Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Maybe you should do a podcast with Joe Rogan next.
Bert Cochran Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Liberals are sick.
John Doe Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
You Sure Did Beat Around The Barn A LOT!
morris shaw Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
That is one of the top reasons for me voting for someone. If the believe that the 2nd Amendment is not important - they do not get my vote. I turn them off completely. They could have good policy ideas that I may agree with, but not completely understanding or supporting the 2nd amendment will get a NO from me. That is why I never vote Democrat.
fingermush hcfx Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Big fan. It's Ne-vad-dud, not Ne-vah-duh. Life is good.
coyote kicker Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Just a huckleberry above a persimmon ain't ya?
Chris Peterson Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
None of this would happen in Cheatham Co. LOL Just saying, its the most hillbilly place youll every see!
Charles Ritman Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Proud NRA, GOA, and VCDL member. Now it’s worse than ever - join - join ANY national organization to protect federal law and then one state organization to protect your state law. If you don’t like the NRA - do GOA, 2AF, etc. instead. Thanks for pushing the NRA hickok45, I hate the bump stock ban. Frankly, I’m mad about it. But if we let off the gas on a car we don’t like best in the end definitely you lose the race...We need to support all gun rights organizations and if one isn’t enough we need to do more.
Hickok45hear Wednesday, February 20th, 2019
Smart man
dave g Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
I respect you , but this sounds like it’s fishy too me ... one can alway cloud the truth , but the truth is alway self apparent if you let yourself look objectively... educators always go from an elitist point of view , they can’t help it .
Colby Porter Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
The Supreme court needs to do one of two things, dicided that the "shall not be infringed" means exactly what it means and find that all past and future gun laws are illegal. Or, find that the 2nd Amendment is not written correctly and we need to amend it. Then, we can decide as Americans wether we need to have a civil war. These socialist scum are not going away. Better to deal with them now while the strength is on the true patriot side. Either way let's get on with it...
gnewb e Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
These are the best, thanking you kindly for the entertainment. May you and yourn be joyful and content.
jackdanielzx Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
what i dont get is why we are trying so hard to keep our rights. we should be fighting to get our rights back as well as acquire new ones. giving up existing rights shouldnt even be part of the conversation.
rorschach8585 Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
Hi, I'm prior military, a parent, I have a license to carry firearms, and I'm a legal gun owner. More importantly, I'm a subscriber to your channel and I'm a Hickok45 fan. Coming from the standpoint that all discussions of gun legality should be approached with the understanding that 1) the 2A is a Constitutional right, 2) guns are not inherently bad, but it's up to the shooter to infuse good or evil into it, 3) bad people exist, 4) we must consider that the gun laws equation MUST take into account the three elements, which are the hardware, the operator, and legal access between the hardware and the operator based on their clean criminal record (NICS background check) and (preferably) their competency with firearms (currently varies from state to state)...can you share your thoughts and/or opinion on how we as a nation can reduce the number of active shooter incidents, especially in public schools? Clearly the wrong kinds of operators are gaining access to the hardware when there should have been more effective mechanism preventing them from doing so. Total gun ban on one side of the spectrum is not realistic, and no regulations at all on the other end of the spectrum is equally unrealistic. The only arguments I keep hearing are from the extremes of both ends of the spectrum. What do you think is a more realistic answer to preserving the rights of law-abiding citizens while also preventing more senseless deaths of innocent citizens (especially children) from occurring? Question submitted honestly and respectfully...I'm sure if you chose to answer, you will do so with equal measure of honesty and respect (though I doubt other commenters will be as kind...this IS YouTube after all).
John Smith Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
Hey from Pennsylvania, love your videos, I’m former law enforcement love tactical stuff and also a hunter and survivalist. Wondering if you could do a video on the savage model 24 all models.
Eddy Flo Tuesday, February 19th, 2019
You are very wise... Clint / Hickok 2020
schnekm483bk Ken Monday, February 18th, 2019
WOW, I wish "guns" were as casual (and no issue) as they used to be. Shooting in your own "backyard" was a learning experience. Darn , who needs to hunt when the local grocery store has "everything" you need? The first two amendments are still the rule of CIVIL citisens! Over population has been "studied" as well. Guess what, crowding a space has dire consequences. Overpopulation will end with the LAW of the JUNGLE ( with no method of defense) unless you're mighty big and "smart". Darn, makes one wonder why manners in public have declined.(and politicians are even bigger LIARS than ever).
Patrick Dobbels Monday, February 18th, 2019
As long as you are safe. You should be able to shoot all day. The noise thing is not valid. You should be around all the quads and motorcycles here.
Skraith Monday, February 18th, 2019
What should be in every gun bill is "if in x amount of time there isn't a measurable decrease in gun violence that can be traced specifically back to this bill, it becomes void."
John Marinello Monday, February 18th, 2019
You have taken a reasonable approach to a complicated challenge.. That's not a popular approach in today's environment.. I for one thank God for reasonable gun owners such as yourself so that the conspiracy theorists are not the only voice in our struggle to maintain our basic 2nd amendment rights.. Thank you sir.
WILBERT RAMOS Monday, February 18th, 2019
I wonder what's gonna be the next thing you can't do in your own property that you pay taxes & your supposed to own & have every legal right to do what ever you want this is sad
onenikkione Sunday, February 17th, 2019
No pro-gun group can make laws.  Laws are made by the people that we elect.  Everyone needs to become "politically active".  Being politically active is much more than just voting, google it.
970x90 ADSENSE

Sponsors:





Browse Content:


Categories: