Saturday, August 24th, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

sootch00
February 9, 2019

AlienGear Holster Core Carry Pack Budget or Bust

From sootch00 on Saturday, February 9th, 2019 in Reviews, Concealed & Videos
00:18:14
AlienGear Holster Core Carry Pack Review. Four Separate holster configurations from IWB, IWB Appendix, OWB Belt Slide and OWB Paddle. Plus they include a hideaway mount for discreet retention.
Big thanks to AlienGear for their support. aliengearholsters.com/ 

Big thanks to Fiocchi USA for their Sponsorship!
Rubber Dummies 10% off "Sootch00" Code. Click Affiliate Link: rubberdummies.myshopify.com?af... 

Be a Team Sootch Minuteman: www.patreon.com/Sootch00 

Hit the Like Button & Subscribe for more Fun Gun Reviews.
Thanks for watching~ Sootch00
Instagram: Sootch_00
FaceBook: www.facebook.com/Sootch00FunGu... 

Music is from Jingle Punks Royalty Free Music through the Fullscreen Network. Used with permission.

50 Comments on "AlienGear Holster Core Carry Pack Budget or Bust":

Robert Cairns Wednesday, April 17th, 2019
Assessories...assessories ...ACCESSORIES.
Gir Tuesday, April 16th, 2019
Oh, wow. It's been in the back of my mind to buy an Alien Gear holster at some point, but I didn't even know they offered something like this. I'm definitely interested in getting one sooner than later, now.
Billy Freniere Monday, April 15th, 2019
Great video, Sootch. Tons of great information presented well. I will be purchasing this system soon. Thanks!
Spencer Norris Saturday, April 13th, 2019
bust.... horrible mine came apart in two months...stay away
Bryan F Friday, April 12th, 2019
I'm surprised it took you this long to do a review of the Shapeshift.
Chevygirlss Thursday, April 11th, 2019
I’m going to buy the 99 dollar package
Todd Stang Wednesday, April 10th, 2019
BLACK ARCH. PROTOS -M
Joel Fish Wednesday, April 10th, 2019
They have a few options for lights and lasers, but only for Crimson Trace and Eridian. Unfortunately nothing for Surefire, Streamlight, or Olight yet. I live about 20 miles from the Alien Gear headquarters in North Idaho and am constantly going there to swap out my shells everytime I get a new pistol. They have outstanding customer service and forever warrenty's on their products.
VT808 Tuesday, April 9th, 2019
Those plastic clips?!?! I’ll stick with my crossbreed holsters.
Jmhm17 Tuesday, April 9th, 2019
This is such a overhyped ripoff of the Black Arch Holsters Protos M. Black Arch was first to market with this whole design, even the 3/4 shell for retention. Quality is 10x better too. Please do a review on the Protos m kit
driver mod NBTX Sunday, April 7th, 2019
It's real versatile for sure, but seems a heck of a lot bulkier than the original. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Lerch Friday, April 5th, 2019
Nice gadget but Id rather have leather or nylon
Allan Lifoifoi Friday, April 5th, 2019
Does u guys have one for a lefty?
OKstang77 Wednesday, April 3rd, 2019
Came across an Alien Gear video yesterday that involved an employee of the company but a "bigger" guy like myself. He was giving tips on using AG stuff and what is comfortable for him. I found that video very informative and loved that they were thoughtful enough to include a bigger frame, most vids/ads are slender build people talking about how comfortable their stuff is.
Joker 313 Sunday, March 31st, 2019
I tried Alien gear years and never tried another brand again. It's so comfortable you forget it's on.
Ksan Khan Sunday, March 31st, 2019
I wish I would have tried Alien Gear holsters first. I've spent as much on holsters as one of my guns cost but I like the Alien gear Holster system and will stick with it for a while. So far I'm happy.
R Bailey Sunday, March 31st, 2019
Sootch00 thank you posting this video! The instructions that came with my AG system were too vague. I was about to return the darn thing until I saw your video. I was able to set up my IWB without a problem after watching this. Also Id like to mention this thing is really comfortable!
RandomPrepper2K Friday, March 29th, 2019
I think for now, this is only viable for me as an OWB option, 'nightstand holster' and for mounting my pistol places... I purchased the OWB kit for one of my pistols, showed up a couple days ago, it is great for that role, and I will likely get an extra 'mount' for my truck. I LOVE the retention options and will probably buy a few more shells for at least 1 of my other handguns. Pro's and cons with every system, this one definitely has a role in my world. I'll use other, slimmer options for IWB carry, I think they need some improvements in that area
Dave Johnson Thursday, March 28th, 2019
I'm sorry Sootch but with all do respect I've got to disagree with you on this one. I bought a "Core Kit" at the gun range for my M&P Shield and returned it the next day. I really wanted to like this rig as the idea of a modular and versatile holster "System" appealed to the Shooter and Engineer in me. Unfortunately I think it was poorly executed. Like many here, I thought the rig was kind of bulky and cumbersome. The overall feel of the individual components also seemed a bit toy like. It's hard for me to explain but I found myself wishing they had used some screws instead of the plastic slides and lock nuts. But the thing that put me over the top was the flimsiness of the thumb release. The plunger that you push on with your thumb flexed and bound up in the slide. I Could Not Extract my gun until I straitened out the plunger. If you're in a stressful situation I don't think it likely that you will calmly relax pressure to straiten the plunger and then push it strait down. Most likely is that you will push harder, farther flexing the plunger and therefor binding it even more. I think this is a major design flaw. I was so concerned about it that I e-mailed Alien Gear that day. To their credit Alien gear thanked me for my feedback and said they would forward my comments to R&D. Until these system concepts get more refined I'll stick with purpose built holsters. As always, thank you for your great reviews and for providing a forum for discussion about gun matters.
Mike Ross Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
Way to complicated for me. I don't need a holster with more parts and adjustments than my gun!
Playdo Boy Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
Heres my problem with this alien gear company. How are they not going to have the 4.0 holster model available for the vp9 sk!!!???? That is ridiculous to me and just puts a bad taste in my mouth for this company.
Nancy M-R Tuesday, March 26th, 2019
I like this one because it doesn't have a hard pointy part sticking up to stab me in the ribs.
Frank Stabler Tuesday, March 26th, 2019
I've been using the Cloak Tuck for several years and love it. I ordered the Shape Shift and sent it back after 2 days. The retention did not work. I used the paddle mount and when I tried to draw the holster came with with handgun. I took off the thumb retention and it still would not release. The passive retention adjustment didn't work at all. I took it off and the retention was still too stiff Also the paddle sticks out so far that concealment is impossible. The holster feels like a toy. I'll stick with the Cloak Tuck. As far as I'm concerned, this is a bust.
David Garrett Sunday, March 24th, 2019
The cross breed holster has retention as well
Little PAW 1969 Sunday, March 24th, 2019
Looks like a nice holster.
David 99 Saturday, March 23rd, 2019
Does the backing come with the carry pack ? Always liked them holsters
Tom Ebert Saturday, March 23rd, 2019
can you tuck a shirt for conceal carry?
Rockdoc St Augustine Saturday, March 23rd, 2019
I've been wearing the StealthGear holster for 3 years now with my XDS 45. It's the most comfortable holster I've ever worn.
gogreyhound Thursday, March 21st, 2019
Came to hear "nuroprene" and wasn't let down.
Stumpknocker22 Thursday, March 21st, 2019
Black Arch Holsters Protos-M has the 3/4 shell that covers the trigger gaurd fully like this for their hybrid. I have it and it is very very comfortable. I think its built better and a little thinner/less bulky.
Chris Kenney Thursday, March 21st, 2019
I enjoyed everything about the core pack and the 4.0 shell. The one thing I didn't like, that I removed was the retention block. I'm a little thick in the equator area and that plus the retention didn't work out well. I could be wrong and that I needed to just use it to wear it down and make it slide better, but it seems to work fine without the retention on and my pressure pushing up against it worked like its own retention.
Michael Robitaille Thursday, March 21st, 2019
I use the Alien Gear Holsters ShapeShift Starter Kit (what it was called before Core Carry Pack) for my S&W M&P SHIELD. 40. I am continually rotating between the OWB Paddle, OWB Belt Slide, & AIWB Configurations (except I carry at the 3-4 o'clock position for AIWB). I also have done the CloakTuck 4.0 Configuration but not as often as the others.I am thinking of getting the Shoulder Holster & Drop Leg expansions (when have the funds to do so). That's the nice thing about the ShapeShift system is all the options available for carry. It helps that I'm about a 2-hour drive from Alien Gear Holsters HQ in Post Falls, ID, so I order direct through them & pick up the product direct from them.
Wayne Smith Saturday, March 16th, 2019
I'm currently testing out my buddie's earlier Cloak Tuck for my G19. I really like it. I'm wearing it for the weekend then decide if that's the way I wanna go as I've become dissatisfied with basic, clunky Kydex IWB holsters. Well, I just ordered two holsters from AlienGear. Lol! I guess we got a winner! Very comfortable and I don't think I've ever had a holster that not only put the gun in so nice and tight, tucked, but also VERY comfortable. I think anything from AlienGear will be the best and most economical choice for many concealed carriers.
Dave F Wednesday, March 13th, 2019
I have the 3.5 for my S&W M&P 2.0 compact 9mm. I can't wait for the ShapeShift for my gun. I will be getting one. Their customer service is second to none. Nice video.
Nathan Flamm Wednesday, March 13th, 2019
I think I would be more open to this if it was kydex rather than polymer.
Brian Pepin Monday, March 11th, 2019
I can already hear the cries of "I ain't want no transformer holster!" from the die hard leather holster crowd.
David Stolley Sunday, March 10th, 2019
Do you know if the cz p10c is compatible with the Glock 19 4.0 shapeshift modular system?
Steven Haynes Friday, March 8th, 2019
Love my blackarch protos m holster . has a fully covered trigger guard and retention and not bulky .
Jake dgfabouturopinion Friday, March 8th, 2019
In pretty sure it’s solid, I won’t do a durability test for what they cost. But that being said it does feel cheap. I have tried this holster for a glock 17. That sucked uncomfortable and heavy. Can’t hate alien gear for that. Glock 17 is a big gun to conceal carry. I think this holster would be great for a shield g43 something like that. But i want an all purpose carry gun. Not too small or too big higher mag capacity and I also like to have a light on my carry gun. After the long day that gun becomes my night stand gun. I rather not have multiple guns lying around loaded for different reasons. One thing alien gear needs to do is add lights to their holsters
gm tech Friday, March 8th, 2019
To tight on a 1911 am gonna send it back even with the retention all the way off
MB JediGorilla Thursday, March 7th, 2019
I've worn a cloak 2.0 for 3yrs just about every day. No problems, very comfortable.
Andrew Soldan Wednesday, March 6th, 2019
While Alien Gear does make a great product, this is not one of them. The shapeshift platform is held together with little plastic caps that I don’t believe will hold up to long term use.
dj jayne Wednesday, March 6th, 2019
I really love this system I use it all the time my only complaint is the appendix carry is awful
Edward Snowden Tuesday, March 5th, 2019
I drive by alien gear factory once a week.
Kota Nagant Tuesday, March 5th, 2019
I've gotta get my AG holster.
Richard Oliver Tuesday, March 5th, 2019
Thank you for your review. I have been looking at holster system that will fit me, and now I am covinved that Alien Gear is the way to go
Julio Englasis Monday, March 4th, 2019
Seams overly complicated and janky.
skooly nugenator Sunday, March 3rd, 2019
Too bulky for me.
Gino D. Sunday, March 3rd, 2019
I love sootch00's channel. Been a viewer for quite awhile now. But... I definately have to disagree with this review. I do plain clothes detail very often and picking a good holster is critical. I bought this package after watching this video. Bottomline... Aliengear is thrash. To keep it simple, customer service sucks, their product is mass produced and quality of the plastic is terrible. It has a toyish feel. Several parts have cracked with less than 4 months of use. Why didn't I return it? Tried. Customer service gave me some bs answer. Check out Active Self Defense's video review. On point on the flaws. I've had great results with other companies such as : Phlster holsters, ks armory, qvo tactical etc... Don't waste your money with Alien Gear unless you like to throw your money away. Sry Sootch00... Not kosher.
813 Tactical © Sunday, March 3rd, 2019
What an awesome review and holster setup. I'm buying on of these. Do a review on the safariland 6360 for the Glock. Those holsters are very nice and sturdy. Love safariland.
970x90 ADSENSE

Sponsors:





Browse Content:


Categories: