Thursday, June 20th, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

Lucky Gunner Ammo
March 8, 2019

That Time the Derringer Made a Comeback

From Lucky Gunner Ammo on Friday, March 8th, 2019 in Pistols, Handguns, & Videos
00:06:00
The Derringer-style guns being made today are mostly patterned after the old single action Remington Model 95 that was in production from the 1860s until the mid-1930s. Because they are single action, and not particularly small next to a modern polymer pocket semi-auto, these guns are typically skipped over by most serious self-defense oriented shooters and instructors. But there was a time just a few decades ago when a Derringer -- the High Standard Model D-101 .22 (and the DM101 in .22 Magnum) -- caught the attention of some of the industry's most influential handgunners.
Watch the rest of the Pocket Pistol Series here! www.youtube.com/playlist?list=... 

Support our channel. Buy ammo! www.luckygunner.com 

50 Comments on "That Time the Derringer Made a Comeback":

J Shepard Tuesday, June 18th, 2019
If I ever find myself back in 1890 I'll be sure to seek out this firearm. Otherwise...
john plaid Tuesday, June 18th, 2019
They came with a holster that mimicked a wallet and it had a hole in it so you could access the trigger so when the perp demanded your wallet you pulled it out and BLAMMO!.
Michael Goldberg Sunday, June 16th, 2019
but what about the COP .357 Derringer?its 4 barrel, very compact, and chambered in 357 mag / 38 special.would that be a good self defense tool?
Joe P Saturday, June 15th, 2019
I remember when the Hi Standard derringer was available. I had a friend who owned one. I recall firing it way back in 1969. He called it a belly gun. I have an NAA revolver with an interchangeable cylinder so I can shoot both 22LR and 22 magnum. It has 5 shots. It's a fun range toy, but in 22 magnum, it suffers from the same problem that the Hi Standard derringer did. It doesn't make full use of the 22 magnum round, which was designed for and first used in rifles, not handguns. The 22 magnum has a huge powder charge compared with the 22 LR. In these little guns you get a lot more flash and noise which is pretty impressive but probably wasteful. These little guns also take more time to reload than my Ruger LCPII which uses 380, a round designed for small guns and actually cheaper to buy than 22 magnums. I never carry my NAA revolver; I pocket carry my LCPII instead. The only drawback I can see to a small semi auto pistol compared with a derringer or a NAA revolver is that after about 200 rounds, my semi autos are prone to stovepipe type jams if I haven't cleaned and lubed them. However, 22 rimfire ammo is far more prone to misfires than centerfire ammo. More than once I've unloaded a 'dud' 22 round, repositioned it and had it fire on the second try. That's never happened to me with centerfire ammo, and I use 9mm and 45 acp as well as 380. I don't understand why rimfire ammo is more prone to ftf than centerfire ammo. I also don't understand why derringers today are so expensive. Why would you buy Bond arms derringer when you could get a Ruger SP101 revolver which is an heirloom quality stainless steel revolver for $100 more?
Jay Kaye Wednesday, June 12th, 2019
I own one of these in .22 WMR that I bought back in the 80's when I was going to medical school in Philly. My plan was to shove it into my attackers chest, pop two off, then walk away. This was back in the day when carry permits were 'May Issue.' They have not lost their value. Mine needed a rubber eraser in the innards to make it work right, but in a wallet holster, it was pretty concealable. Remember "wolfpacks" and "'wilding"? I also have a Beretta JetFire in .25 ACP dating from back then. Better that nothing.
Jamez Monday, May 27th, 2019
Derringers coupled with shotshells are a good pocket solution for danger noodles.
Harold George Ibell Jr. Thursday, May 9th, 2019
love this firearm easy to clean and repair = truly a beast to pull the trigger best as you said use your middle finger you get a better grip and your groups are on target = 22 LR mag packs the right punch to send them to the hospital in a hurry = I FIND THE STINGER ROUNDS IN 22 LR MAGNUM HOLLOW POINT DO THE JOB NICELY = LOL
Remote Viewer 1 Sunday, May 5th, 2019
Practical under such dire circumstances that I would rather, if forced into a shitty choice, carry a blade or a rape whistle. Dont laugh, someone with a real gun might help, or scare off the violent actor. No thanks. Btw, this little better than a toy is considered lethal force. Can you fathom that? In a court of law, classes out identically to an ar15, ak47. Chew on that for a moment. No range. No capacity. A five inch fixed blade bk2 has all the range, is far more durable, and doesn't need reloaded. Imho, is far more lethal, has far greater ability to stop & incapacitate. Just as concealable. There are functional and practical reasons these went extinct. LCP2 is only more reliable, functionally just as small in terms of being concealable, and more power, more rounds easier to aim, greater range. If I ever had the misfortume to need the power, this is too weak, under powered, too limited in aimability, low round count for me to justify as force in the cause of my self defence. I, John, personally deserve and am worth a better weapon. Museum pieces, sure, range toy, its your filthy hard earned lucre, spend it as you want. Not my cup of tea, eh? Fascinating to see what was tech. Look at the engineering we have now. Its quite a leap.
Niemand Binich Sunday, May 5th, 2019
The kind of weapon you use at stun-gun range.
Austin Healey Monday, April 15th, 2019
Love the videos! Thanks for the great work!
RunkkuRusina Monday, April 15th, 2019
This gun just looks cool. I don't even need ammo for it i just wanna fiddle with it. Its like when you got a new toy as a kid and just couldn't put it down : D
thunder bolt Saturday, April 13th, 2019
Good advice for Derringer lovers " Do not get in a gunfight with 3 dudes " !
39Thorns Friday, April 12th, 2019
.38 snubbie FTW, for me.
Troy Ortega Friday, April 12th, 2019
Always wanted one in 22 WMR. Hard to find. U forgot to mention the COP 4 barrel DA derringer in 357 Mag. Also, Iver Johnson or somebody has been advertising a 4 barrel 22 SA derringer as well. I saw a SHOT show video last year of a very small 4 shot revolver in (ugh) 25 ACP. My thought was, make it in 32 H&R Mag to keep it narrow, and that is a decent power level, about like standard pressure 38 Spl (are you listening, Taurus?). Unfortunately, the gun shown was probably a one-off prototype, and nothing ever went into production. Small pocket guns are an interesting field, going all the way back to the pepperbox revolvers of the 1830's and 1840's. Maybe Bond could revive the COP concept. Don't know who owns it now. American Derringer made some in the 80's. A 4 shot 9mm, 38, or 357 would be useful.
Joel Martinez Tuesday, April 2nd, 2019
"As long as your finger is clear of the muzzle" 😂 not really what I want to hear when talking about how to fire a gun
PaPaJoe Cooking Tuesday, April 2nd, 2019
So many putting down a .22 cal bullet be it a short,long rifle or mag. I’ve heard ER nurses and ER Drs.hate them because they have seen the entry wound and the crazy direction of exit wound, go in the shoulder and exit at the ankle. I’ve seen hunters using a 416 Rig. have to shoot a Cape Buffalo or an Elephant several times to take them down. So does caliber size really matter!
Tacticool Memes Monday, April 1st, 2019
Derringers are bigger FuddGuns than 1911s. CHANGE MY MIND.
Hyrum Wood Sunday, March 31st, 2019
I want a kolibri so bad......
Los Serpent Sunday, March 31st, 2019
dayz anyone?
donald barnett Sunday, March 31st, 2019
I owned one of these little derringers in the 1960's in 22 magnum cal. and I did find that because of the horrible trigger pull it was best to fire it with the index finger alongside of the barrel. I found this little pistole to be extremely concealable because of the flat barrel design and the fact that a lose glove would fit over it with the index finger alongside the barrel there was no need for sites at close range,
Jack Seymour Sunday, March 31st, 2019
Thank you for this video ! Please make more
Netheryk Saturday, March 30th, 2019
Now. Don't tell me that, that thing could stop a person from stomping you like jesus. You might aswell use a toothpick to defend yourself.
Bob Lamb Saturday, March 30th, 2019
I almost bought a High Standard DA Derringer in .22 WRM many years ago with the wallet/holster. I still wish that I had bought it.
Robert Waterman Saturday, March 30th, 2019
That gun is a worthless throw away. It's only good for two things: killing and framing someone by planting it in there cold dead hand.
A.T. Oliver Friday, March 29th, 2019
Yes 👍👍👍👍
Bill Tree Friday, March 29th, 2019
I would love to have a derringer, but their so goddamn expensive
F-22 Raptor Friday, March 29th, 2019
A Derringer is a backup gun to your backup gun.
marshall baldwin Friday, March 29th, 2019
The best back that I carried for a long time was north American arms 22 magnum revolver work perfect the times I needed it
Jimbo Dunn Friday, March 29th, 2019
Back in 81 my father walked up to me slipped one of these into my hand and said' here Jimmy now you will always have a gun in your pocket .' Told one guy I got my father in my front pocket. Lol saw one guy make a wallet case for his
Robert Fustin Thursday, March 28th, 2019
It's a whole lot easier to fire that pistol with your middle finger than with your index finger. As a natural grip of the firearm actually index is your middle finger on the trigger not your index. And with the new once you do mag short-barrel ammo that CCI is making, with a considerably better projectile. It is a pocket pistol to be severely reckoned with. Would love to see these things remanufactured in stainless steel.It is not all Steel. The grip frame on it is made of aluminum.I had an acquaintance back in the 80s that had survived a helicopter crash in Angola. The man who had shot up the helicopter relieve him of his Rifle and Pistol without realizing he wasn't dead. He shot and killed the man with his high standard 22 mag Derringer and left with his weapons. It is a surprisingly effective cartridge, but then again the rule in a gunfight is have a gun.When I can find one in good shape I intend to carry it as a pocket / Hideout gun. It still gives you a gun you can put in your hand, it can be fired from inside the pocket if need be. And it gives you two rounds to get to a gun you may have concealed more deeply. Not only that, it is certainly loud enough in 22 magnum to let the protagonist know of assurity that he's being shot at.
tobber08 Thursday, March 28th, 2019
How cute.
KingTesticus Thursday, March 28th, 2019
I have a single-action Bond Derringer chambered in .410 and .45 colt. It's worthless beyond a dozen feet in terms of accuracy. The trigger is also a "beast" (as you put it), and the recoil mitigation... there isn't any. Your bones and flesh are the recoil absorption device. After a few shots it seriously starts to hurt, so practicing with it is less than practical.That said, I still love it because it's built like a tank, and is it okay to just like on it because of the Cool Factor? It is pretty cool despite being less than ideal in this day and age. The thing itself makes a superb weapon even without ammo. I like the two shots thing and the concept that if you can't get your "business" taken care of with two shots, then you're in the wrong business with the wrong tool.Lastly, when it comes to concealability, it isn't difficult to tuck in next to your belt buckle. It's so small and comfortable to carry making it a good option for times when I'm wearing less thick clothing. Like summer.Thanks, thumbs up :-)
See-more Do-less Thursday, March 28th, 2019
I own the 101 magnum . Something about mouse guns that’s cool ... many others also .. I see some nice holsters for the High Standard being made now . What’s old is new again in the next generation .
Carl Williams Thursday, March 28th, 2019
Just bought one Monday! My brother-in-law has had one he got in the 70's. I have always wanted one and finally found it.
Joshua Murtz Thursday, March 28th, 2019
Why are derringers so expensive ? The cheapest ones I have seen were in the 500$ range .they aren't antique either .
TGLymantaiste Thursday, March 28th, 2019
Its not all steel
TGLymantaiste Thursday, March 28th, 2019
I have one of those
Brad the impaler Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
Fully semiautomatic assault derringer
alex moore Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
He looks like billy Russo from punisher
Peter Yermishkin Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
Wowsers! I didn't know that existed!
Rusty Forest Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
(Derringer): Guess who's back? Back Again
2bit MarketAnarchist Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
I thought this video was going to be about that time when Bond Arms derringers were really popular a few years back and keizer was coming out with them in rifle calibers like 5,56 and 7.62x39
007bistromath Wednesday, March 27th, 2019
powerful weak
grayhawk 1976 Tuesday, March 26th, 2019
I actually have one of these. The going price for these things will blow your mind!
Emilio Chavez Sunday, March 24th, 2019
I’d rather a single action old school .38 special Remington derringer, then that dinky DOA .22 long rifle.... is wayyyyy weak. I won’t go weaker than standard pressure.38 special....That .22 is only good for like assassinations
Ben Fletcher Sunday, March 24th, 2019
The D100 looks like a pretty damn cool firearm!
Chris Duke Sunday, March 24th, 2019
Yeah, hipster beard guy only talks about .22 Derringers. Were you in diapers yet when the LA riots went down and I had a .357 model M-1 Remington style stuffed into my shorts pocket? Survive another 20 years, then give me your opinion!
James Sullivan Sunday, March 24th, 2019
My dad also carried 22 magnum high standard has backup pistol down here in South Florida sometimes as you know down here we don't wear very much clothes not a lot of places to hide a pistol however the 22 magnum hi standard you can wear it and no one would know that you even had it no matter what you had on also you could get a wallet holster for the pistol and you're able to fire it's from The holster plus I had two extra rounds with it so for the everyday person when they say give me your wallet you could give them your wallet LOL
DocLaw Saturday, March 23rd, 2019
I heard the same thing about High Standard Derringers being loved by police as a backup gun, down in Arkansas, in the 1980's.
ej732 Saturday, March 23rd, 2019
Idk why Ammo Gouger...I mean LG popped up in my feed...
970x90 ADSENSE

Sponsors:





Browse Content:


Categories: