Tuesday, March 26th, 2019

Firearm Reviews

Firearm Reviews

Lucky Gunner Ammo
March 8, 2019

That Time the Derringer Made a Comeback

From Lucky Gunner Ammo on Friday, March 8th, 2019 in Pistols, Handguns, & Videos
00:06:00
The Derringer-style guns being made today are mostly patterned after the old single action Remington Model 95 that was in production from the 1860s until the mid-1930s. Because they are single action, and not particularly small next to a modern polymer pocket semi-auto, these guns are typically skipped over by most serious self-defense oriented shooters and instructors. But there was a time just a few decades ago when a Derringer -- the High Standard Model D-101 .22 (and the DM101 in .22 Magnum) -- caught the attention of some of the industry's most influential handgunners.
Watch the rest of the Pocket Pistol Series here! www.youtube.com/playlist?list=... 

Support our channel. Buy ammo! www.luckygunner.com 

50 Comments on "That Time the Derringer Made a Comeback":

Radical Edwards Thursday, March 14th, 2019
The grips serve the purpose of filling your hand for a better grasp
Spรถrde Spyrdenstein Thursday, March 14th, 2019
UNFUN FACT: These - among other "pocket pistols" - are currently illegal in the soviet EU's slave state Finland.
niadhf Wednesday, March 13th, 2019
I just found one of these in 22WMR at my LGS.
Game Guy Tuesday, March 12th, 2019
Content??? More please??? Need more of this.
Jared Green Tuesday, March 12th, 2019
2 shots of .22lr when Mr bad dude is already bearing down on you sounds like a death pact. Lol ๐Ÿค—
Tom Burgess Tuesday, March 12th, 2019
๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐ Ÿ‘
Michele of the burning valley Monday, March 11th, 2019
Also, in close quarters the less moving parts in a pistol the less likely they are to malfunction.
gary K Monday, March 11th, 2019
I began a career in law enforcement in 1973. So, of course, I needed an off duty concealed carry handgun. I can tell you that in the early and mid 70's there were very few choices. You went with a PPK/s, Walther HSc, or a S&W J frame/Colt Detective Special. That was about it. I was using a S&W Model 40 Centennial and a Model 19 with 2.5" barrel as my off duty guns but neither were good for summer pocket carry. so I sought out and bought one of the Hi-Standard derringers. Definitely a better pocket gun. I managed to add the PPK/s Walther HSc, Colt Mustang Pocketlite, a S&W Model 640 and 642, FN 1910 .380 and .a .32 ACP Colt Model 1903 to the collection. Fast forward a few decades, I am retired and out come all these small, light .380 pocket pistols. I buy a lot of guns but rarely sell them...however the Hi-Standard was one of those I sold. I just no longer had a use for it, the ammo is relatively expensive, it is not fun to shoot, it really no longer had any redeeming qualities for me. Well, anyway, someone had $$$ in an amount that interested me more than the gun did. I kept the others because at least they are fun to shoot or serve well for formal occasions when I have to wear socks and want to look my best...weddings and funerals. I now use a S&W Bodyguard .380 as my pocket carry gun (when I need one, it is not my EDC) It is smaller, lighter, cheaper and holds SEVEN (6+1) .380 cartridges. Plus the finish is pretty much bullet proof for pocket carry. THAT's more better!
ed mazzeo Monday, March 11th, 2019
hey, thanks for the review of this gun..i managed to buy one (cheap) for 200, some years back. they command a pretty good price there days...but they are unique ,and have a cool factor . I appreciate you zeroing in on this one .
contrabassbob Sunday, March 10th, 2019
I can't help but feel a large derringer (full size grip, 6" barrels?) in .357 or the like would be a fun shooter.
Levi Pearce Sunday, March 10th, 2019
It'd be a good suit/black tie gun
Mohammed Cohen Sunday, March 10th, 2019
...The High Standard is a nice little AOW with its 'fully enclosed' holster which give it the appearance of a wallet...I own an American Derringer in .357...looks like a twin...but it's a beast to shoot...the only comfort in shooting one is that the other fellow will feel much worse...
Braidborn Sunday, March 10th, 2019
Is it just me or does Chris look like a younger Timothy Omundson
James Cameron Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Unless ur blasting people in the back of the head like Kuklinski
Anonymity Saturday, March 9th, 2019
I had one but it had plastic internals and would frequently light strike the .22 mag rim now I have an NAA .22 magnum pug
Jim Rodgers Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Even with all of the knowledge that a derringer isn't the most practical handgun to own... I still want one. But for the reasons you mentioned I haven't put my hard-earned money into buying one... yet.
seansimmons73 Saturday, March 9th, 2019
I think your overlooking the main attraction to Derringer's & that's price. They tend to be cheaper than auto or revolvers & you can get them in pretty much any caliber. Still an o.k. option as a back up gun
WGH50051 Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Great video. Like you mentioned I saw a lot of officers w/these as BUG even some in 38. By far the most popular was the 22 Mag. Great video and thanks.
Long Nguy Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Definitely a gun on my list now. Gotta love these Lucky Gunner episodes!
Robin Campbell Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Bond Arms makes some amazing derringer-style pistols in a very wide range of calibers and barrel lengths. They're heavy but carrying 45 Long Colt (for example) in your pocket is pretty hot.
J hawk Dire Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Just cool guns though I doubt Iโ€™d buy one because of pretty much every point just made. They just arenโ€™t cool enough for me to make up for the flaws. The old adage, better then a pointy stick might actually be debatable in this case.
Jason Powell Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Thank you
magicrobharv Saturday, March 9th, 2019
Great info + great video. More pocket pistol videos please! I'm in the market for a pocket pistol. Thanks.
Frank Hellman Friday, March 8th, 2019
Other than collection filling & range fun, I think you're right. A working LCP2, Bodyguard, G42 or other really small 380 ACP semi-auto is going to be superior for defense. This is particularly true when the caliber is rim fire vs. the 380 centerfire. -->A scant few 9mm pistols are now getting closer to pocket size, too. It's still a stretch, but if better materials become cheaper and someone can manage to do good micro-design & some QC in production, a reliable 9mm pocket piece is feasible.
Odysseus Son of Laertes Friday, March 8th, 2019
I love lucky gunner ammo and the quality of their videos but for once could we not have a video on pocket pistols and small ammo types. Seems like this dude has a fetish for everything under 9mm that's small enough for "rectum carry."
Ruben Rodriguez Friday, March 8th, 2019
This pocket pistol series gets better and better. Keep up the great work, I'm definitely waiting a the next episode of this series.
Roger D. Miller Friday, March 8th, 2019
It has taken all the resolveI have not to buy a Bond Arms derringer. They are just so damn cool. I just cannot rationalize a reason to have one. They are not light, or small. But they are just so damn cool.
ZFlyingVLover Friday, March 8th, 2019
Modern day derringer is the 3d printed gun
MPGunther1 Friday, March 8th, 2019
Thank you, Always interesting information
Christopher Taylor Friday, March 8th, 2019
No trigger guard????
maxout214226 Friday, March 8th, 2019
TBH I'd rather take a fixed blade knife at that point than two shots of .22. Both will poke holes in your bad guy, but in an elevator, you get more than two shots.
Daryl Poe Friday, March 8th, 2019
Thank you for keeping the vids short. If I have a suit on, my choice is a made in Italy flip-tip Beretta Minx .22 short in a pocket holster.
Tom Stepanowicz Friday, March 8th, 2019
Nice history lesson
Sum Arbor Friday, March 8th, 2019
I love the fact you guys are an ammo company that don't splatter adds about your products every minute.
Steven Friday, March 8th, 2019
I wonder what Manny Mansfield would think of a .45 caliber Derringer.
frapycharm1 Friday, March 8th, 2019
I bought one for my wife itโ€™s chambered in 38
Scowler Friday, March 8th, 2019
Isn't Bond Arms working on a modern double-action Derringer?
Barddy 44 Friday, March 8th, 2019
I have the .22 magnum one from my grandfather and its a **** hand cannon close range. ;-)
Leon O'Grian Friday, March 8th, 2019
Just saw recently that Bond Arms is working on a "slim" version of their darrenger, and possibly a double action version.
TJ Smith Friday, March 8th, 2019
Chris,I inherited one of the DM versions from my grandfather who carried this as a BUG to his combat commander. I was super excited to see you holding one, as most people have no idea what I'm talking about when I mention it. Also, I was a little disappointed you didn't bring up the key holing issues with these little guys; they're definitely picky on which ammo is used.
Vincent Bertolini Friday, March 8th, 2019
Bond arms ?
Coyote Brown Friday, March 8th, 2019
The 70's were an awesome era gunwise. The "modern" stuff was coming in, but not quite 100% accepted, so old tech was still being clung to and "innovated" on. Newly formed SWAT units had new M16's and 50 year old Tommy guns side by side in the rack, and "Python Vs. Berreta 92 for duty carry!" was a perfectly debatable gun magazine lead headline.
Justin Prather Friday, March 8th, 2019
Bond arms should do these with their interchangeable barrel system.
Mohamud Aljohani Friday, March 8th, 2019
i remember this gun from BioHazard 1 Remake gamethe design was awful for my tastecuz it was for Jill only in the game i thought it's for woman's onlybut i see now its potential useregardless this is a LAME gun from all aspectsbut thank you Chris for the infoit was an interesting video
J.C. Frey Friday, March 8th, 2019
1000
trainer2448 Friday, March 8th, 2019
Yup. I carried a nickle-plated .22 mag version in a wallet holster for a couple of years. This gun was a popular backup at my department.
ftdefiance1 Friday, March 8th, 2019
These were popular with Phoenix Police in the day. Onion Field insurance
Ethan Blankenship Friday, March 8th, 2019
Sometimes I zone out because I notice how well you edit videos. If you show a picture it's not just a picture, it's a transition, slow zoom added noise/grain, transition out. I cant believe you dont have more subs! Keep up the fantastic work! ๐Ÿ‘Œ
Robert Underdunk Terwilliger Friday, March 8th, 2019
can be fired from inside the pocket, just like a revolver. In fact it is a revolver of sorts, its the firing pin that rotates, not the chambers.
David Hernandez Friday, March 8th, 2019
Didn't realize that derringer excited .
970x90

Sponsors:

300x100
300x100
300x100
300x100

Browse Content:


Categories: